Lok Sabha elections-2019: Voting to be held for 91 Lok Sabha seats in first phase

Voting for Assembly polls will also be held in Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh and the first phase of Odisha.

New Delhi

The stage is set for polling in 91 Lok Sabha constituencies across 20 states and Union Territories on Thursday in the first of seven-phased polls.

Voting for Assembly polls will also be held in Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh and the first phase of Odisha.

People will vote for all parliamentary constituencies in Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Uttarakhand, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Lakshadweep, Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Telangana.

Constituencies in Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal will also go to the polls in the first phase.

The first phase will see interesting battles in all the states going to the polls and will decide electoral fate of sitting Chief Ministers, several Union Ministers and some senior leaders from different parties.

Elections for all 60 assembly seats and 2 Loksabha seats in Arunachal Pradesh will be held simultaneously on April 11.

In Andhra Pradesh , voting for 25 Lok Sabha and 175 assembly seats will be held simultaneously on April 11.

In Telangana, elections will be held on all 17 seats in the first phase. The ruling Telangana Rashtra Samiti is hoping to sweep the polls in alliance with Asaduddin Owaisi-led AIMIM, who is aiming for a fourth consecutive win from the Hyderabad Lok Sabha seat.

In eight western Uttar Pradesh constituencies the ruling BJP will clash with the newly-formed SP-BSP-RLD alliance.

Polling in Uttarkhand’s five Lok Sabha seats will be completed on April 11.

In Odisha four Lok Sabha and 28 assembly seats, including several naxal-hit areas, are going to polls.

In Assam, Tezpur, Kaliabor, Jorhat, Dibrugarh and Lakhimpur constituencies will vote in the first phase.

Seven seats in Maharashtra, four in Bihar and two each in West Bengal, Jammu and Kashmir, Meghalaya and  Arunachal Pradesh will see polling in the first phase.

Lone Lok Sabha seats going to polls on April 11 include Mizoram, Tripura, Manipur, Chhattisgarh Nagaland, Sikkim, Andaman and Nicobar, and Lakshadweep.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button