Meghalaya Assembly Election 2023 Live Update:

More than 2,160,000 people are eligible to cast their vote.

Meghalaya Assembly Election 2023 Live Update:   In Meghalaya polling is being held in 59 out of 60 assembly seats. Polling in Sohiong constituency has been postponed due to the death of one of the candidates.

More than 2,160,000 people are eligible to cast their vote. A total of 3,419 polling booths have been set up. As many as 640 polling booths have been categorised as “vulnerable” and 323 as “critical”. A total of 369 candidates, including 36 women candidates, are in the fray.

The ruling National People’s Party (NPP) is fighting to retain power while the BJP, the Trinamool Congress and other regional parties are vying to bring about a change in the government.

Polling will be held from 7 am to 4 pm. The votes for Meghalaya and Nagaland will be counted on March 2 along with votes that were cast for Tripura Assembly seats on February 16.

Meghalaya Assembly Election 2023 Live Update:


03:30 pm

64% voter turnout in Meghalaya by 3pm

02:00 PM

“Malfunctioning of EVMs came to the fore at a few polling booths, but those were later fixed. Polling is being held in a free and fair manner,” Chief Electoral Officer F R Kharkongor said.

11:30 AM

Till 11 am, 26.70 per cent voter turnout recorded in Meghalaya Elections 2023 and 35.24 per cent in Nagaland Elections 2023

11:00 AM

I feel that my vote and the people’s vote will decide that I will win this constituency as an MLA, Ernest Mawrie, Meghalaya BJP chief and party’s candidate from West Shillong constituency, after casting his vote.

10:00 AM

As on 9.30 a.m., Meghalaya has recorded 12.06% voter turnout

9:30: AM.

Meghalaya records 10.88% voter turnout- As on 9 a.m., Meghalaya has recorded 10.88% voter turnout

08:15 am

Early voters in Meghalaya being given mementos. The first five voters in Meghalaya received mementoes in a bid to encourage robust turnout and voting in the early hours.

08:00 AM

An eco-friendly model polling station set up in Meghalaya.

Meghalaya Assembly Election 2023: Key Candidates

  • Conrad Kongkal Sangma (NPP): South Tura
  • Vincent H Pala (Congress): Sutnga Saipung
  • Dr Mukul Sangma (AITC): Songsak and Tikrikilla
  • Alexander Laloo Hek (BJP): Pynthorumkhrah
  • Prestone Tynsong (NPP): Pynursla
  • Metbah Lyngdoh (UDP): Mairang
  • Timothy Shira (NPP): Resubelpara
  • Ernest Mawrie (BJP): West Shillong
  • Sanbor Shullai (BJP): South Shillong
  • James Pangsang Kongkal Sangma (NPP): Dadenggre
  • Sniawbhalang Dhar (NPP): Nartiang
  • Lahkmen Rymbui (UDP): Amlarem


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button