Tripura: BJP names Manik Saha as Tripura New CM

AGARTALA-  The BJP named state president and Rajya Sabha MP Dr Manik Saha as the new Chief Minister of Tripura after Biplab Kumar Deb submitted his resignation to Governor Satyadeo Narain Arya at the Raj Bhawan in Agartala on Saturday.

Speaking to reporters after the meeting at the Chief Minister’s official residence, Dr Manik Saha said: “I was given the responsibility of the state president. I worked. Now, I’ve been named the leader of the legislative party. The CM proposed my name, everyone supported.”

Also Read- Tripura CM Biplab Kumar Deb Resigns Ahead Of 2023 Polls

“Congratulations to Shri @DrManikSaha2 on being elected the leader of BJP Legislative Party. I am sure with the guidance of honourable Prime Minister @narendramodi and under your leadership, Tripura will scale new heights in terms of development,” union minister Bhupender Yadav tweeted.

The elections to the 60-member Tripura Assembly will be held next year. The BJP had come to power in 2018 by ending the 25-year-long rule of CPM-led Left Front government in the state. This time, it is facing a challenge from the Trinamool Congress which had gained the third largest vote share in the civic polls held last year.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button