Assam: Sarbananda Sonowal files nomination for Dibrugarh Constituency

More than 10,000 supporters join BJP candidate Sarbananda Sonowal at the roadshow

DIBRUGARH-   Sarbananda Sonowal, the BJP candidate for the Dibrugarh Lok Sabha constituency, filed nomination papers at the Dibrugarh District Commissioner’s office here today. During the nomination filing, Sonowal was accompanied by the Chief Minister of Assam, Dr Himanta Biswa Sarma; the Union Minister of State, Rameswar Teli along with the senior Minister of Govt of Assam, Atul Bora, who is also the President of Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), and senior leader of UPPL and MP (Rajya Sabha), Rwngwra Narzary – both NDA allies.

More  than 10,000 supporters joined Sarbananda Sonowal in a roadshow on way to file the nomination papers. The exhilarating mood saw people dance to varied folk forms while drum rolls filled the air with exuberance and excitement. The roadshow started from Old Highschool field in Phoolbagan to DC Office via Mancotta road.

Also Read- Arvind Kejriwal Arrest: AAP stages Nation wide protest

The senior BJP leader, Sarbananda Sonowal began his day with a visit to the ‘Naamghar’ where he prayed for the peace and prosperity of the people. Sonowal then addressed huge public meeting where thousands of supporters braved torrential rains and thronged to the ground.

The electrifying atmosphere echoed passionate slogans for Sarbananda Sonowal as he sets aim to get elected from the Dibrugarh constituency.

Speaking on the occasion, the senior BJP leader, Sarbananda Sonowal said, “It is a matter of great honour that so many of you have come today. We are moving ahead with the idea of ‘Akow Ebar, Modi Sarkar’ (Modi Sarkar, Once More). We must stand firm on our resolve to win maximum seats along with our NDA alliance partners AGP and UPPL.

Speaking on the occasion, the Chief Minister of Assam, Dr Himanta Biswa Sarma said, “Today, the Union Minister of the Government of India and our beloved, Sarbananda Sonowal has submitted his nomination from the Dibrugarh Lok Sabha constituency.

Also Read- SKM releases candidate list for 34 Assembly and one LS Seat

It’s my privilege to stand alongside him at this pivotal moment. On behalf of all BJP office bearers in Assam, I extend our heartfelt best wishes to him. I am confident that Dibrugarh will emerge victorious in the Lok Sabha elections with a record mandate with a margin of two and a half to three lakhs votes, as per my anticipation.

In Assam, our party is assured of winning 11 seats. After the first phase of elections, our focus will shift towards securing the 12th and 13th seats, namely Nagaon and Karimganj.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button