Assembly Elections 2023: Hung assembly in Meghalaya

The United Democratic Party (UDP) was in second place, winning 11 seats.

SHILLONG-   Hung assembly in Meghalaya: In the 59 seats that went to polls in Meghalaya, incumbent Chief Minister Conrad Sangma’s National People’s Party (NPP) has won 26  seats. The BJP has won two seats.

The United Democratic Party (UDP) was in second place, winning 11 seats.  Congress, which ruled the state from 2008-2018 has won five seats. Mamata Banerjee’s All India Trinamool Congress (TMC) has won five seats in the state. Ernest Mawrie, Meghalaya BJP chief, lost in the assembly election 2023.

Also Read- NDPP-BJP win Nagaland Assembly Election 2023

Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma on Thursday called up Union Home Minister Amit Shah to seek his help in securing another term after his National People’s Party (NPP) fell short of a majority in the state elections. His request was met without delay.

Also Read- BJP and allies win Tripura Assembly Election 2023

The majority mark in Meghalaya, where the assembly has 60 seats, is 31. Voting on one of the seats was cancelled and will be held later.

Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, the BJP’s main troubleshooter in the northeast, announced the party’s decision to support Mr Sangma. However, the alliance may still need to cobble together a few more seats to cross the magic number.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button