Maha Dharna in support of Bodoland in Ramlila Maidan

New Delhi

The movement group for separate Bodoland, ABSU, NDFB (P) and PJACBM once again resumes its democratic mass movement through MAHA DHARNA in Ram Leela Maidan on Tuesday.

Talking to Northeastindia24 Promod Boro, President of All Bodo Student’s Union said that thousands of people from all over Assam, and those Bodo people who are leaving in Delhi took part in this Maha Dharna.

The present Government of India headed by Mr. Narendra Modi who promised to resolve the Boro problem during the election campaign of 2014 has forgotten his tall promises. Said Promod Boro.

The Government of Assam which came to power by giving promises of protecting jati (native people), mati (land) and bheti (foundation of the society) too has forgotten their promises instead they are more interested in inviting more and more  Hindu Bangladeshis, he added.

The tribal people’s apprehension of being deprived, discriminated, neglected, repressed and dominated as long as they continue to live in Assam did help crop up a sentiment in the hearts of some of the tribal leaders that they needed a separate state and thus the present generation is upholding movement for creating Bodoland state under Article 2 & 3 of the Constitution of India, said the ABSU president promod Boro.

Meanwhile after today’s ‘Maha Dharna’, the Bodos will organise a ‘Maha Rally’  from Rajghat to the Parliament Street of New Delhi on 29th November, 2017

They also  declare their agitation for future including

  • 24 Hrs National Highway Blockade  in the 2nd Week of December, 2017
  • Mass Hunger strike in the last week of December 2017.
  • Economic Blockade for 10 Days in the, last week of January, 2018.

The special dignitaries present in the Maha Dharna are: SK Bwiswmutiary ex MP (LS), UG Brahma Ex MP (RS)President UPPL, Dr. Vasantrao Koro Adivasi Rights Activist, Baba Tomar Statehood Movement Leader, Dhirendra Boro President NDFB (P), Pramod Boro President ABSU, Rakesh Boro Chief Convenor PJACBM. G.R Pradip Deuri President Deuri Sangram Samiti, Kalam Marak Garo Dev. Council, Yusuf Ali President UMMC, Susil Das Adviser ABSYF, Lohit Upretee Secy. Assam Gorkha Parishad, Motilal Barman President ABKSU, Gopal Fozder Adviser SC Council.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button