Meghalaya: 4 MLAs will resign from Assembly and to join BJP


The political scene is changing very fast in the poll bound state of Meghalaya. Before two day 8 MLAs had resigned from Assembly, and now 4 MLAs are ready to resign from Meghalaya Assembly and to join BJP on Tuesday .

As per the BJP  official source, four MLAs will resign as members of the Meghalaya Legislative Assembly to join the BJP . These four MLAs are A.L. Hek from Congress, Sanbor Shullai of the Nationalist Congress Party and two Independents – Justine Dkhar and Robinus Syngkon.

 The BJP state unit president Shibun Lyngdoh said that the four legislators will be joining the BJP at a public meeting.

Those who will be present at the meeting include Union tourism minister K.J. Alphons, who is also the party’s Meghalaya election in-charge, Assam Finance minister and North East Democratic Alliance convener Himanta Biswa Sarma and BJP national general secretary in-charge of the Northeast, Ram Madhav.

“We will be resigning as the members of the Meghalaya assembly and join the BJP,” Mr Hek, who had served as a cabinet minister in the Mukul Sangma cabinet, told media.

Mr Shullai, on the other hand, had recently been relieved from the post of NCP Meghalaya president.

Earlier this month, Syngkon, who had been a parliamentary secretary, had withdrawn his support to the Sangma-led Congress government.

The development comes at a time when nine sitting legislators, which include six from the Congress, have resigned from the state Assembly.

While eight of the legislators will join the National People’s Party and PN Syiem, who is also the Chief Executive Member of the Khasi Hills Autonomous District Council, joined the newly floated People’s Democratic Front.

The ninth Meghalaya Assembly, comprising 60 members, was constituted on 1 March, 2013, and its term expires on 6 March next year.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button