Meghalaya : Congress wins Ampati seat


Miani D Shira, Congress candidate and daughter of former Meghalaya CM Mukul Sangma defeated her nearest contestant from NPP- Clement G Momin and won the Ampati seat.

Now the opposition Congress emerged as the single largest party in the 60-member Meghalaya Legislative Assembly with 21 seats.

Congress has won the Ampati by poll in South West Garo Hills district on Thursday with former chief minister, Mukul Sangma‘s daughter Miani Dalbot Shira defeating the ruling National People’s Party (NPP) candidate Clement G Momin by a margin of 3,191 votes, after results were declared following final counting of votes.

Polling for the Ampati by poll was held on May 28 with a high voters’ turnout of 90.55 per cent. Out of total turnout, Congress candidate Miani D Shira polled 14,259 votes, while NPP candidate and former minister Clement G Momin secured 11,068 votes.

On the other hand Independent candidate Subhankar Koch secured only 360 votes and 208 voters voted for NOTA.
The by poll to Ampati was necessitated after Mukul Sangma had decided to leave the Ampati seat and Congress’s number came down to 20.

In the last assembly election in Meghalaya, Congress had won 21 seats, while NPP secured 19, 2 by BJP, 6 by United Democratic Party (UDP), 4 by People’s Democratic Front (PDF), 2 by Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP), 1 each by NCP and KHNM and 3 by Independent.

Conrad Sangma-led government was formed after BJP, UDP, PDF, HSPDP and one Independent MLA had supported NPP.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button