Mizoram: MNF back in power in Mizoram, BJP opens account

The Mizo National Front (MNF) wins the assembly election with an absolute majority, while  BJP opened its account with one seat.


The Mizo National Front (MNF) on Tuesday record  victory  and come back in power in Mizoram. The MNF won 26 seats in the 40-member assembly, a gain of 21 seats since 2013.

The MNF led by Zoramthanga, a former underground, had won the assembly elections in 1998 and 2003.  It is now a constituent of the North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA), formed by the BJP.

The MNF at a meeting of its newly-elected legislators unanimously elected Zoramthanga as the leader of the MNF legislature party.

The Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM), a conglomerate of two political parties – the Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) and Mizoram People’s Conference (MPC) captured eight seats. The ZPM’s performance was commendable as they bagged 22.9 per cent votes.

Outgoing chief minister Lal Thanhawla suffered defeats from both the seats he contested, including his home constituency  Serchip. He also lost from Champai South constituency. He  met Governor K Rajasekharan and submitted his resignation, official sources said.

The BJP opened its account in the Christian-dominated state as the party candidate and former minister Buddha Dhan Chakma won from the Chakma-dominated Tuichawng seat in south Mizoram’s Lawngtlai district. The BJP, which fielded 39 candidates, secured eight per cent votes.

Congress managed to bag only five seats compared to 34 seats it won in the 2013 assembly elections.

Former Mizoram Assembly speaker Hiphei who resigned from the Congress and contested as a BJP nominee lost from Palak constituency.

Former Mizoram home minister R Lalzirliana who defected from the Congress to the MNF won from Tawi seat.

Another former Congress leader and Health minister Lalrinliana Sailo won Chalfith seat as a MNF candidate.

F Lalnunmawia of the MNF defeated agriculture minister K S Thanga by a margin of 2,037 votes in Aizawl South-III seat.

Another former Assembly speaker, Lalchamliana of the MNF, defeated the Cooperation Minister Vanlalawmpuii Chawngthu in Hrangturzo seat, while Lalrinawma of the MNF retained the Tuikum seat by defeating SangzelaTlau of the Lalruatkima of the MNF also retained their seats, Siaha and Aizawl West-II, respectively. HCV SUN MM ZMN


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button