Assam: Second phase of LS polls in five seats of Assam- LIVE UPDATE

Polling for five parliamentary constituencies in Assam started at 7 am on Thursday in the second phase of the Lok Sabha election 2019.


Polling for five parliamentary constituencies in Assam started at 7 m on Thursday in the second phase of the Lok Sabha election 2019. The voters seen queuing up at a polling stations in Mangaldoi, Karimganj and Nagaon constituencies respectively to cast their votes even before the exercise began at 7 am.

The BJP  which won seven seats in the last Lok Sabha election, and Congress are the two key players in Assam.

Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) of perfume baron Badruddin Ajmal and Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) are the other prominent parties in the state.

The AGP and BPF have come together with the ruling BJP to fight the Lok Sabha election 2019, while Congress and AIUDF continue to challenge them. The BJP, AGP and BPF are against the Congress and AIUDF for the 14 Lok Sabha seats in the state.


1:00 pm

  • 46.76% voter turnout recorded till 1 pm in Assam
  • Reports of EVM glitches have been reported from several booths in all the five constituencies and efforts are on to correct the snags.
  • BJP and TMC workers clashed inside a polling booth and broke the EVM machine in Kotgach, Chopra. The district in Darjeeling had also witnessed police lathicharge after miscreants tried to stop people from voting.
  • Across India, overall voter turnout has been recorded at 37.81 percent. Among all the 11 states in fray today, 46.76 percent have voted in Assam; 38.87 percent in  Bihar; 29.88 percent in Jammu and Kashmir and Karnataka recorded a 21.47 percent.

11:00 am 

  • Karimganj registered 28.30 per cent polling, Silchar 27.05 per cent, Diphu 28.90 per cent, Mangaldai 31.26 per cent and Nowgong 18.51 per cent.
  • Voters at a polling booth in North Karimganj in Assam decided not to vote after EVM malfunction delayed voting on Thursday. Not a single vote was cast till 10:30 am,

07;30 am 

  • A total of 69,10,592 voters are eligible to exercise their democratic right.
  • There are 50 candidates in the fray, including 18 Independents.
  • Nearly 36,000 personnel have been deployed in the second phase of the general elections, officials said.
  • The polling started at 7 a.m. across 8,992 polling centres and will continue till 5 p.m.


FIVE CONSTITUENCY where polling was going on –      SITTING MP

Karimganj                                                                          Radheshyam Biswas,   AIUDF

Silchar                                                                                Sushmita Dev,   INC

Autonomous District                                                         Biren Singh Engti,  INC

Mangaldoi                                                                        Ramen Deka ,   BJP

Nawgong                                                                         Rajen Gohai,   BJP


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button