BJP coalition is all set to return to power in Manipur

IMPHAL-  The ruling BJP coalition is all set to return to power in the insurgency-hit state of Manipur, as it bagged 31 seats, as per the latest ECI data.  Till now the BJP has won the 26 seats and leading in 5 seats.

Chief Minister N Biren Singh defeated his nearest Congress rival, P Saratchandra Singh, by 18,271 votes in the Heingang seat.

The National People’s Party has won 6 seats and leading in 2, while the Naga People’s Front has won 5seats. Indian National Congress has won 5 seats, while others won 11 seats.

Chief Minister Biren Singh Thanks People, PM Modi, JP Nadda for Victory.

“I thank the people of Manipur. I thank our national leaders PM Modi, Amit Shah, JP Nadda for guiding us, and due to that, we’ve won in Manipur. Victory in Goa, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh shows PM Modi’s mantra of ‘Sabka Saath Sabka Vikas’,” said Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh.

Exactly 20 years after he joined politics, Nongthombam Biren Singh, the former footballer and journalist-turned chief minister of Manipur, has led BJP to a position where it is set to form the government for a second consecutive term.

The 61-year-old has been widely credited for bringing peace and bridging the divide between the people of the valley and the hills, in this insurgency-hit, multi-ethnic state during his tenure as chief minister in the past five years.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button