EC releases delimitation proposal for Assam; retains number of Lok Sabha, assembly seats

A parliamentary seat has been proposed to be named Kaziranga.

GUWAHATI-    The Election Commission has proposed to retain the number of assembly seats in Assam at 126 and the Lok Sabha constituencies at 14 as it released on Tuesday the draft delimitation document for the northeastern state.

According to an official statement, the EC has proposed that the assembly seats reserved for Scheduled Castes be increased from eight to nine and for Scheduled Tribes seats from 16 to 19.

Manipur: Meitei Women form Human Chains on Street for Peace

A parliamentary seat has been proposed to be named Kaziranga. The EC draft on delimitation proposes to reserve 19 assembly and two parliamentary seats for STs, and nine assembly and one parliamentary seats for SCs.

The poll body proposed that the number of assembly seats in the autonomous districts of West Karbi Anglong be increased by one and in Bodoland autonomous council areas from 16 to 19.

जननी जन्मभूमिश्च स्वर्गादपि गरीयसी

The draft delimitation published by ECI today stipulate that the current Jalukbari constituency, which I have represented since 2001, will no longer exist as it has been divided into three parts. I am feeling very saddened by this news.… — Himanta Biswa Sarma (@himantabiswa) June 20, 2023

The EC has retained Diphu and Kokrajhar parliamentary seats reserved for ST and continued the Lakhimpur parliamentary seat as unreserved. According to the proposals, there will be one unreserved assembly seat in Dhemaji district.

Two parliamentary seats have been proposed for the Barak Valley districts — Cachar, Hailakandi and Karimganj.

Manipur Violence: Mobs try to torch houses of BJP leaders, 2 injured

Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar and Election Commissioners Anup Chandra Pandey and Arun Goel are slated to visit Assam in July for a public hearing on the draft proposal.

The delimitation exercise was carried out on the basis of 2001 census. The last delimitation was done in Assam in 1976.

The term of the current Assam legislative assembly will end on May 20, 2026. The state currently has 14 Lok Sabha, 126 assembly and seven Rajya Sabha seats.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button