Nagaland and Meghalya ready for Assembly Elections-2018

Kohima / Shillong


Nagaland and Meghalaya are ready for assembly elections to be held on February 27. Polling will be held between 7am and 4pm. However in  some polling stations of the interior districts of Nagaland, voting will be end  at 3pm.

Both The two states have a 60-member House each, but in Meghalaya voting will be held in 59 of the 60 assembly constituencies after the elections for William agar constituency was postponed following the death of N CP candidate Jonathon N Sangma in an ambush last week.

In Meghalya the  ruling Congress. led by chief minister Mukul Sangma over the last eight years. has been seeking votes on grounds that it brought an end to bandh culture resulting in peace, stability and development in the state.

The BJP has given the call for “Time for change – time for BJP” accusing the government of corruption and has even released a “charge-sheet” in which three cabinet ministers Ampareen Lyngdoh, HDR Lyngdoh and Clement R Marak were named in the paper.

In Nagaland, BJP’s hope hinges on its alliance partner NDPP (the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party) of Neiphiu Rio, which is contesting from 40 seats. The saffron party has fielded candidates from the remaining 20 seats. The Congress, which has given three chief ministers to Nagaland since the state’s inception in 1963, is contesting from only 18 seats, two less than the BJP, an emerging entity in the north-east.

There are 370 candidates in the fray in Meghalaya. A total of 18.4 lakh voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in 3,083 polling stations in the state.

In Nagaland, a total of 11,91,513 voters, out of which 6,01,707 (50.50%) men and 5,89,806 (49.50%) women— will exercise their franchise tomorrow. There are also 5,925 service voters. Voting will be conducted in 2,156 polling stations .

The results of the polls in the two states, along with that of Tripura, will be declared on 3 March.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button