Assam: e-rickshaws restricted in Hailakandi town to ease flow of traffic



At a time when other districts of Assam are grappling with the problem of e-rickshaws, the Hailakandi district administration has taken a slew of steps to keep e-rickshaw out of bounds of municipal areas to ease the traffic flow in Hailakandi town.

It has been decided to allow plying of only 251 e-rickshaws within the municipal areas. More than 1300 such battery operated vehicles were plying in the town areas creating traffic snarls, thus giving harrowing time to the commuters and pedestrians alike.

15 routes have been selected outside Hailakandi town areas for plying of e-rickshaws. They are ASTC bus stand to Paikan, ASTC bus stand to Samarikona, Bhatpara to Basic Chowrangi, Bhatpara to Serispore, Baolipar to Bhatikupa, Gangpar Dhumkar to Narainpur, Rangauti to Purkaitbari, Rangauti to Nitainagar, Vichinga to Bawarghat, Satsanga to Ujankupa, Tupkhana to Vichinga, Herbatganj Bazar to Narainpur, Borjurai to Boalipar, Kanchanpur to Serispore and Narainpur to Serispore.

District Transport Officer, Nripen Kalita disclosed that his office is making a rigorous drive against unregistered e-rickshaws. Around 40 such battery operated vehicles have been seized and kept at Sadar Police Station.

Kalita said instructions have been issued to the dealers not to sell e-rickshaw to any purchaser without provisional route permit from the transport authorities. “The purchaser must obtain a provisional route permit for a specific route before purchasing e-rickshaw. It will be later made permanent at the time of registration,” said Kalita.

The DTO further said that strict action would be taken against any dealer in the form of suspension or cancellation of trade licence for non compliance of the order.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button