Manipur: 3 Kuki-Zo MLAs removed as Chairmen of House panels

n the new appointment, two belonged to the Meitei community and one from Naga.

IMPHAL-   Manipur State Legislative Assembly speaker has replaced three MLAs from the Kuki-Zo community who were serving as chairpersons for various committees. The decision was communicated through a notification released on November 24 by K. Meghajit Singh, Secretary of the Manipur Legislative Assembly.  In the new appointment, two belonged to the Meitei community and one from Naga.

“The Speaker, Manipur Legislative Assembly, appointed Mayanglambam Rameshwar Singh as Chairman of Committee on Public Undertakings in place of its previous Chairman. Singh has replaced LM Khaute, MLA of Churachandpur Assembly Constituency. As per the notification issued by K Meghajit, Secretary, Manipur Legislative Assembly”.

Also Read- Injured Myanmar national brought to Imphal for treatment dies; locals protest

“Losii Dikho, MLA of Mao Assembly Constituency, was appointed as Chairman of the Committee on Government Assurance replacing Haokholet Kipgen, MLA Saitu Assembly Constituency”.

“Khong-bantabam Ibomcha, MLA Lamlai Assembly Constituency, has replaced Vung-zagin Valte, MLA of Thanlon Assembly Constituency as Chairman of the Library Committee”.

The notification further said, “If the chairman is for any reason unable to act, the speaker may appoint another chairman in his place.”

It should be mentioned that following the violence that erupted on May 3 , 10 Kuki MLAs, including seven MLAs from the ruling party, two Kuki People’s Alliance (KPA) and one Independent Kuki MLA demanded a separate administration in Manipur.

Watch Video

Several Kuki organisations are pressing for separate administration for themselves in Manipur and even announced self-rule in Kuki-dominated areas of Manipur, which were absolutely denounced by the N Biren Singh government.

Also Read-  Special exams for all medical students, awaiting NMC advice: Health Minister

On the other hand Meitei MLAs of BJP had written to the prime minister and union home minister urging them not to create a separate administration structure within the state.

Ten Kuki-Zomi-Hmar MLAs, including two ministers, did not attend the one-day assembly session on August 29 citing security reasons, creating a political rift.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button